• Paper Gains
  • Posts
  • 5 Lessons I Wish I Knew Before Starting Trading…

5 Lessons I Wish I Knew Before Starting Trading…

All these years of experience come with dozens of lessons…

Today, I want to share 5 key things I wish I had known before I started my own trading journey.

1. Trading is not a get-rich-quick scheme

Contrary to popular belief, trading requires time, effort, discipline, and patience

Treat it as a business, not a hobby. 

A hobby is something that costs you a ton of time and money. It may be fun, but at the end of the day, it’s just an expense. IF that’s what you want, then by all means, treat it like a hobby. If not, well, you need to treat it like a business…

2. One size does not fit all

There's no cookie-cutter approach to trading. 

You need to find a strategy that aligns with your personality, risk appetite, and goals

Develop your own trading system instead of blindly following others.

3. You can't succeed alone

Surround yourself with experienced traders, seek mentorship, and join trading communities

Learn from others, share ideas, and get feedback to accelerate your growth.

4. Continuous learning is essential

Markets are dynamic, and your skills should be too.

Constantly adapt your strategies, test and refine your methods, expand your knowledge base to stay ahead of the curve.

5. Embrace uncertainty

Trading involves risk and probability. 

There are no guarantees. Manage risk effectively, and use both your intuition and analysis to make informed decisions.

Take action now and assess your current trading approach.

Are you treating it as a business?

Have you found your unique strategy?

Are you continuously learning and adapting?

If you need guidance on your trading journey, I'm here to help. 🙋 

When I open my private group, we’ll take care of this and more…

Keep an eye on the inbox when I finally reopen it.

Rooting for you,

Paper Gains.